Sub Banner

Driving Without Insurance Ticket in NJ

One of the most severely punished motor vehicle offenses in NJ is driving without insurance. It is a violation of the NJ Compulsory Motor Vehicle Insurance Law N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1. The law stipulates that every vehicle that is either principally garaged or registered in this state carries insurance for motor vehicle liability. If you have been issued a driving without insurance ticket in New Jersey, do not hesitate to get in touch with The Law Office of Benjamin Friedman for legal representation of your case. Although paying for the ticket seems to be an easier option, this decision essentially means you are pleading guilty. On the other hand, fighting the ticket (pleading not guilty) gives you an opportunity to contest the ticket with the help of an attorney. With a New Jersey attorney on your side, you can also appeal against the verdict where applicable.

New Jersey Driving Without Insurance Law

Driving Without Insurance Penalties in NJ

It is important that you get legal representation when charged with driving without insurance. When found guilty of driving without insurance, certain mandatory penalties may be imposed on you. For first time offenders, they include:

  • Being fined a minimum of $300 and a maximum of $1,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for at least one year
  • Court fees and costs
  • A three-year surcharge fee of $250 by the Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Being sentenced to community service for a period determined by the court

Some of the possible penalties for second-time offenders include the following.

  • Being fined a minimum of $500 and a maximum of $5,000
  • Community service of at least 180 hours or 30 days
  • A two-year suspension of your driver’s license
  • A Department of Motor Vehicles surcharge of $250
  • Serving 14 days in jail

Additionally, subsequent offenders also find it extremely costly to obtain insurance as they are assessed for insurance eligibility points first. You will also be required to let the Motor Vehicle Commission Director know of your need to have your driver’s license reinstated by submitting an application for a license to operate a motor vehicle.

Driving Without Insurance Ticket NJ

Driving Without Insurance Lawyer in New Jersey

If you have been charged with driving without insurance, it is important to seek the services of an attorney in New Jersey. Our team will work around the clock to protect your rights by preparing a strong defense that will either have the case dropped or the penalty reduced.

Driving without insurance in New Jersey carries punitive penalties that may not only affect your driving record but also determine the cost of your insurance. Therefore, you should not be quick to plead guilty by paying the fines, but rather get in touch with an attorney and fight the ticket.

Driving Without Insurance Lawyers New Jersey